October 27, 2008

Product Review: Every Man Jack Shaving Cream

everymanjack.jpgI was at our local Target today, checking our their mega expansion into the building next door, and I found some interesting shaving cream - Every Man Jack. Actually there's a whole line of Every Man Jack men's grooming products from shaving cream to body wash to face lotion. And they're all-natural.

Came home. Did a little surfing. Found this article which had a bunch of positive feedback in the comments. Found this review which hated it. Found this article about Ritch Viola, the creator of Every Man Jack, which talks about the brand's creation, ingredients, and marketing.

The final piece of the puzzle came from industrial designer Wai-Loong Lim of Y Studios. Viola wanted a custom design for some of his packaging. Lim designed the containers for the face wash, body wash and hair care products. The design was inspired by the overall identity of the line, and an unexpected source: an old Mexican tequila bottle. It was perfect.

If you look at the products in the picture, you'll see they actually have a block of wood on the top. Oh, old mexican tequila bottle! You're always there to inspire me when I need you most.

Every Man Jack Beginner's Luck Kit is $24.99. Each individual product is $4.99 or less. If you try them out, let us know what you think.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 14, 2008

Review of Molton Brown Supershave Olibanum Shave Cream

moltonbrownshavecream.jpgLook! Up in the sky! It's a bird! It's a plane! It's SuperShave!

By night, mild mannered Molton Brown is an average London cabbie. But by morning he's the facial hair avenger, ready to rid men's faces of the evil whiskers left by the Fearsome Facial Foe. Fueled by the power of Olibanum, a mysterious substance from his home planet of Olibania, Molton "Supershave" Brown is the world's last hope in the daily morning fight against stubble.

What is Olibanum? Wikipedia time! Oh, it's Frankincense! What is Frankincense? Wikipedia time!

Frankincense or olibanum [...] is an aromatic resin obtained from trees of the genus Boswellia. [...] Olibanum essential oil is obtained by steam distillation of the dry resin.

And how is it used?

This indecently rich moisturizing cream is infused with Indian frankincense and pure Vitamin E to give you the smoothest, calmest, closest experience ever. It softens the beard, gives great razor glide, protects and cares for the skin like no other

And how well does it work?

Pretty well

I found this shaving cream solidly good. Molton Brown Supershave Olibanum Shave Cream is a loose white cream, about the consistency of yogurt. It goes on easily with fingers (not meant for a brush) and did a great job of protecting my face from the harshness that is a razor. The shave is smooth and close, and the scent is manly but not overwhelming. I found myself using a fair amount of this cream during each shave, so expect to need a refill a little sooner than other shaving creams. That said I got like really nice shaves, and I think you will too.

Molton Brown Supershave Olibanum Shave Cream is $29 for a 4.2 Ounce/125 ml tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 6, 2008

Review of The Nick Stick From Pacific Shaving Company

Thumbnail image for NickStick_crop.jpgSon of a b-&@%!!!

Nothing like taking a slice out of your face at the worst possible time. Still reaching for toilet paper? Well now there's something better. It's the Nick Stick from Pacific Shaving Company. We got a couple of these little guys in at the end of the summer, and unfortunately we've had several opportunities to use them. (You know who I'm talking about, "shaving cream".)

Here are four reasons why you should have one:

  1. It works. Couple of nicks from a dull razor or cheap shaving cream? No problem. Roll the head of the Nick Stick over the cut and stop the bleeding. Does it hurt? Yeah, it kind of does. But you're man enough to handle it.
  2. It's cheap. The Nick Stick is only $5.95. That's a no-brainer when it comes to shoring up a bleeder.
  3. It's neat. I've got an alum block, and I use it every so often. But you've got to rinse it off and dry it somewhere. I've got better things to do. I'd rather screw the cap onto the Nick Stick and forget about it.
  4. It's tiny. Your travel bag needs one of these. The most frequent times for nicks are when you don't have homefield advantage. A hotel bathroom with poor lighting is ripe for disaster. Plus, you're usually in a hurry. The Nick Stick measures about 2 inches and has negligible weight. Don't leave home without one.

Chock full of alum, vitamin A, E, and aloe, Nick Stick from Pacific Shaving Company is the new way to nip a nick in the bud.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 16, 2008

Review of eShave White Tea After Shave Cream with Shea Butter

eshaveaftershave.jpgOK, so yesterday we shaved with eShave's White Tea Shave Cream. Today we're finishing things up with eShave's White Tea After Shave Cream with Shea Butter.

Packed with moisturizing natural ingredients and antioxidant vitamins A and E, eShave After Shave Creams are the essential final step toward silky skin. Shea butter, aloe vera and comfrey extracts make eShave After Shave Creams an ideal post-shave. The highly concentrated formula penetrates easily, leaving skin toned, moist and soft.

I will attest to the accuracy of the "packed" and "high concentrated" claims. This after shave cream is almost syrupy. You definitely don't want to put too much on, or it'll have a tough time absorbing into your face. Details for Men recommends "a dime size amount", and I agree. For all you non-US readers, a dime is our smallest coin (even though a penny and a nickel are worth less. Doesn't make any sense) Anyway, start out using far less of eShave's after shave than you think. It actually works really well, but you'll have a tough time getting your skin to absorb more than a little bit.

Also, it smells great. Mmm... white tea.

eShave's White Tea After Shave Cream with Shea Butter is $22 for a 4 oz tub.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 15, 2008

Review of eShave's White Tea Shave Cream

eshavewhiteteashave.jpegIt's review time! And it's about time. Got a shipment of eShave products in from our friends over at Details for Men back in April, and we're only now finally getting to them. Shave on us.

First up - eShave's White Tea Shave Cream. Mmm... white tea. This has got to be one of my favorite scents on earth. In fact if you haven't checked out Urth products, they're full of white tea and worth a look. But today we're talking about eShave.

eShave's White Tea Shave Cream is a light, almost fluffy/whipped shaving cream which is best applied with a brush. Place a small dab in the bristles of your brush, hold the tip of the brush under hot water for a few seconds, and then apply to your pre-moistened face. You'll be amazed at how little shaving cream you need to get a nice lather.

Sadly, I felt that the lather ultimately didn't protect my face against the evils of five razor-sharp blades. Perhaps it needed a little extra oil to act more as a lubricant, or maybe it works much better with eShave's Pre-Shave Oil as a base. I'm no chemist, so frankly I don't know what it needs. All I can say is that I was a little underwhelmed at eShave's ability to protect my face against nicks and cuts. (Luckily I had my new Nick Stick from Pacific Shaving Company, but more on that in another post.)

The shave with eShave was decent, although it wasn't the best at lifting up my whiskers. I often found myself reapplying shaving cream for a second pass over a particularly tricky section of skin. Not a huge deal in my book, but I've used shaving creams that have done better on the first pass.

Overall I wasn't that enthusiastic about eShave's shaving cream. Perhaps expectations were too high at the start. I was so excited by the white tea that I built up eShave to be the perfect shave before the first stroke. Anyway, we've had people write in and tell us how much they love it, so it may work great for you.

eShave's White Tea Shave Cream is $20 for a 4 oz tub.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 5, 2008

Review of Barbasol Therapeutic Shaving Cream

barbasol_th.jpgFor one day and one day only, we're changing the name of this site from ShavingStuff to ShavingSnob. Look, I've been very fortunate to have shaved with some of the best. Billy and Baxter? They're my buddies. They're on speed dial. I know a lot of people out there don't want to pay a lot for shaving cream, but hey - it's your face. If you're spending more on carwax than your cara, we need to talk.

So I've been shaving with Barbasol Therapeutic Shaving Cream (between $4 and $5) for the last couple weeks, and I'll admit it. I'm a shaving snob. I like the high-end brands, and I think you will too if you give them a shot.

First, let's talk about scent. We've used products with scents that range from coconut to citrus, from sandalwood to soap. This products falls in the soap range, but sadly there's something artificial in the end result. If you're used to soap smelling like detergent, you won't mind. If you've spent the last five year sampling the creme de la creme of the shaving world, you'll be mildly turned off.

The shave with Barbasol Therapeutic Shaving Cream is fine, especially if you have a sharp razor blade. I found that once my blade started to dull after a few uses, the number of nicks and cuts increased. You don't get that extra lubricating protection of a shaving oil or higher-end cream here, so make sure you have a tough face or a sharp blade.

Also, I don't think Barbasol does much to stand your whiskers up straight. The shave I got wasn't the closest, and I always ended up doing the re-apply/double-shave to get to a level I was used to.

I know. I'm a shaving snob. I'm all about the aroma, the experience, the 100% organic free-range conflict-free botanicals. But have you read the ingredient list on some of these drugstore brands? Remember the breakdown of Edge Sensitive Skin?

Chances are you're at this site because you're looking for a better shave. I'm glad you found your way. Your journey is just beginning, grasshopper. Check out our reviews section for some ideas on where to start. Then go forth and shave.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 22, 2008

Review of Peter Thomas Roth Moisturizing Multi Tasking After Shave Balm

ptraftershave.jpegYesterday we shaved with Peter Thomas Roth 21st Century Shave Cream. Today we're finishing up with Peter Thomas Roth Moisturizing Multi Tasking After Shave Balm. Multi tasking? Why yes. This after shave is also good in the evenings, as a moisturizer after you've washed your face.

Skin-soothing after shave balm, formulated for normal to dry skin types. Helps discourage micro-inflammation as it delivers continuous hydration. Calming complex with allantoin and pro vitamin B5 helps prevent blotchiness and counteracts the discomfort associated with shaving and exposure to the elements. Refreshes and protects the skin, keeping it comfortable moisturized all day.

I liked Peter Thomas Roth's after shave quite a bit. Again, the scent is not the strong point here, but the after shave was mostly odorless. I enjoyed using it both in the morning and the evening, regardless of whether I shaved. Never needed to supplement with anything heavier, yet my skin never felt too oily after using it. I'd recommend this after shave to anyone.

Peter Thomas Roth Moisturizing Multi Tasking After Shave Balm is $24 for a 3.4 oz tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 21, 2008

Review of Peter Thomas Roth 21st Century Shave Cream

ptr21st.jpegJust got back from the 21st century and boy are my arms tired! Thank you. I'll be here all week. Try the Fusion.

Take a minute to refresh your memory about Hungarian skin-care prodigy Peter Thomas Roth, then come on back for our review of his shaving cream.

Actually, Mr. Roth has two shaving creams - 21st Century Shave Cream and Modern Classic Shave Cream. We're reviewing the former, which oddly enough is currently not available on his website, but is available from Details for Men (who supplied us with it).

Cutting edge 21st century technology delivers this unique, rich, velvety shaving cream that is formulated with skin-smoothing moisturizers that form a silky, protective barrier allowing for a closer, more comfortable shave without irritation.

"Velvety" is a decent description of this shaving cream. Close to the consistency of home-made whipped cream. Appearing thick and white, yet still loose and spreadable. Goes on easily with fingers but not thickly so you still have a decent view of your skin underneath.

The scent of Peter Thomas Roth's 21st Century Shave Cream is not it's strong point. Not bad, but not that interesting. Kind of vaguely reminds me of Elmer's Glue mixed with a little sun screen. It's a flat smell, if that makes any sense.

Here's the thing. I've had the privilege to shave with some pretty amazing products over the last few years, so the bar has been raised pretty darn high. Peter Thomas Roth's 21st Century Shave Cream is a huge step up from drugstore brands, but it's not at the level of a Billy, Art, or some other Gentlemen we've tried. The shave is solid with little to no irritation. It's close but not super-close. This is one of those brands I'd recommend to someone who's beginning their quest for the ultimate shave. You'll see a huge improvement over all those "foaming gels" and the like.

Peter Thomas Roth 21st Century Shave Cream is $21 for a 7 oz tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 30, 2008

Reader Review of the MANGROOMER Do-It-Yourself Electric Back Hair Shaver

Shaving Stuff reader Kit recently wrote in with this thorough and positive review of the MANGROOMER Back Hair Shaver. It's in the comments section of the MANGROOMER post we did a while back, but I thought it was worth it's own front-page time. So here goes:

After reading the reviews on this web page I have to admit I was reluctant to purchase the Mangroomer. Although I am by no means a gorilla and have the greatest sympathy for those men that are close, I have had comments about my back hair. On a recent trip to Lake Havasu I was described as a "silverback", being 54 has more than on disadvantage. For years I have used an old Remington electric razor with a trimmer about four inches wide on my back, I usually spent about 45 minutes to get a clean shave. Most of the time I only had to do this about once every four months. I decide to gamble and went to my local Bed, Bath and Beyond and spent the $40.00 plus tax on a Mangroomer. After shaving about on quarter of my back I noticed the shaver seemed to be getting clogged as stated in the reviews I had read on this web site. But I also noticed that hair was sticking all over the handle also. I tried to brush it off the handle and the blades but it was very difficult. Living in Southern California I am familiar with the problems of static electricity. Lucky for me I had a spray bottle of "Static Guard" handy. I sprayed this on the handles and the blades of the Mangroomer and the problem was solved! After discovering this cure I spent about five more minutes and had the smoothest back since I was ten years old. I want to thank Marut Enterprises LLC. for importing this product and Bed, Bath and Beyond for having the insight to sell it.

Possibly the first use of Static Guard in a shaving story. Well done Kit! Or shall I call you MacGyver?

The MANGROOMER Back Hair Shaver is $39.95 at Amazon and Bed, Bath, and Beyond.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 27, 2008

Review of John Allan's Matte Styling Pomade

ja_matte.jpegToday we're going to take a quick look at our final John Allan's product in what has turned out to be John Allan's review week at Shaving Stuff. I've never been much of a hair product man, but a strange confluence of events recently led me to start experimenting in styling. And what I found is that I tend to shy away from the shine, and hold out for the hold.
John Allan's Matte styling pomade fits that bill perfectly.

A light-weight, water-based pomade that gives hair detail without the shine. It can be used on all hair types to provide separation, direction and a light, flexible hold. As a pliable styling tool, this pomade allows you to create and recreate any look or style and washes out easily. Nourishes and conditions hair and scalp with botanical extracts of Orange Flower, Lemongrass, Lime, and Grapefruit.

If you're looking for greased-back lines or the I-just-got-out-of-the-shower tease, try one of his other products. But if you like the subtle hold which doesn't look like you have any product in your hair, Matte's where it's at.

John Allan's Matte Style Pomade is $22 for a 2.4oz jar.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

yahoo.gif

Archives

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy