September 4, 2007

Old Spice Pacific Surge Body Wash

oldSpicePacificSurge.jpgYou'll remember a couple weeks ago we got a shipment of Old Spice products in to try out. Well, last week we were on vacation and guess who came with me? That's right, Old Spice High Endurance Body Wash, Pacific Surge.

See, we had easy access to the beach, a nice grill, and my favorite - an outdoor shower. And after a full day of swimming in the Atlantic, nothing felt better than showering off with a little Pacific Surge. And a beer. Actually, the beer gave the Old Spice a run for its money. But we're really talking two different categories here. Whatever.

Old Spice High Endurance Body Wash, Pacific Surge comes in a giant 18oz container and contains enough for a tons of showers, if you have a wash cloth. If you don't (I didn't bring one), you'll still get plenty of use out of the bottle, but plan on lathering up a wash cloth for maximum efficiency. I was concerned that Pacific Surge would have an overwhelming artificial scent, but the truth was it was rather mild which I liked. Now don't get me wrong, this isn't a purely natural Pacific ocean aroma a la some of the other products we've reviewed on this site. But at $4.99 for a zillion uses, I don't think anyone's going to be complaining too loudly.

Old Spice High Endurance Body Wash, Pacific Surge is $4.99 for a 18oz bottle.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2007

Review of Ikhala Shaving Gel

ikhalaShavingGel.jpgDay two of two in our mini Ikhala products review. Today we're talking about Ikhala Shaving Gel. If you missed our post yesterday about Ikhala Smooth Face Scrub or our post from a while ago about the social mission behind Ikhala, be sure to take a minute and catch up. Ready? OK...

Ikhala Shaving Gel is a clear gel which works itself up into a slightly sudsy lather. Doesn't feeling drying like soap, but the lather does approximate soap bubbles. The shave with Ikhala is good. Not the closest I've ever had, but I think that's actually preferable if you're suffering from frequent in-grown hairs. (Someone please correct me if they've heard otherwise.) And the scent of Ikhala Shaving Gel is like the cleanest swimming pool you've ever swam in. Not one of those over-chlorinated pools with lots of kids. I'm talking about your own private pool overlooking a mountain range on a clear sunny day. (Hey - you try describing smells sometime. I'm serious. This stuff smells like an awesome pool.)

As with all Ikhala products, Ikhala Shaving Gel is formulated for the African male who occasionally struggles with ingrown hairs and razor bumps. For more info check out their website at www.ikhalaformen.com.

Ikhala Shaving Gel is $14 for a 6oz tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 2, 2007

Review of Ikhala Smooth Face Scrub

ikhalaScrub.jpgWorking through quite a backlog of shaving products. Got samples of Ikhala from Kevin Jackson of the Chicago men's grooming store Manifold back in December and I'm embarrassed to say we're just getting to them now.

First up, a reminder. Ihkala is "a luxury skin care line developed specifically for men of African descent." They've also got a great commitment to people. A percentage of sales of Ikhala goes to help rural South African farmers who provide some of the ingredients. See our original post for more info.

Razor bumps and ingrown hairs occur in a higher percentage of African-American males than others. Ikhala's Smooth Face Scrub is one great way to combat that. Exfoliation

[...] deep cleanses pores and gently exfoliates by removing dead cells, leaving the skin looking clean, healthy and revitalized

I found Ikhala's Smooth Face Scrub to work great. I'm not their target demographic, so I'm really not best suited to make a judgment. But I liked that the grit in Ikhala's scrub wasn't too coarse, so I didn't feel like I was scratching my face. Also, the smell is totally unique in facial products I've tried. Kind of reminded my of a nice old leather sofa. Seriously.

Ikhala's Smooth Face Scrub is $18 for a 5oz tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 13, 2007

Review of Gentlemen's Refinery Eye Gel

gr-eye-cream.gifLast day of our Gentlemen's Refinery review week and we've come to The Gentlemen's Refinery Eye Gel. Now I don't know much about eye gel, but if you've had a late night bender and need to recover for a 9am meeting, you're going to want some eye gel. Helps relieve those bags.

An outstanding product made with hyaluronic acid (naturally occurring compound), responsible for the moisture and elasticity of human skin. Designed for everyone who desires to decrease dark color and lift the under eye area, The Gentlemens Refinery Eye Gel, gently and visibly performs the rejuvenation of sensitive under eye area.

As we said yesterday, there are the shaving necessities, and then there are nice-to-haves. Gentlemen's Refinery's Eye Gel definitely falls into the latter category when it comes to shaving. But if you're in the market for an eye gel, I'd definitely recommend this one. I've tried it, and while I can't claim to be an expert, the rest of the Gentlemen's Refinery is so overwhelmingly good, there's no way you'll go wrong here.

The Gentlemen's Refinery Eye Gel is $40 for a 15 ml bottle.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 12, 2007

Review of Gentlemen's Refinery Moisturizer

GR-Moisturizer.jpgThe first three Gentlemen's Refinery products we reviewed this week - Pre Shave Oil, "The Standard" Shaving Cream, and After Shave Balm - are all top shelf and we highly recommend them. Today and tomorrow we'll round out the Gentlemen's Refinery's product line with some nice-to-haves if you're looking to complete your collection.

Today we're focusing on Gentlemen's Refinery Moisturizer, a light, simple moisturizer for use after you've washed you face, or any time you're skin is feeling a little tight.

In keeping with the concept of Natural products, The Gentlemens Refinery Moisturizer continues to raise the standard. Glycerin, Oat Protein, and Vitamin E lead our ingredient list. The Gentlemens Refinery is made with 100% Natural ingredients; paraben and alcohol free (we use natural and beneficial fatty alcohols). The Gentlemens Refinery Moisturizer is unscented, absorbs quickly and keeps skin balanced.

You even notice how most unscented things are really not unscented? The Gentlemen's Refinery is no different, but the scent is mild. Very similar to the shaving cream and after shave - slightly floral and soapy. As we mentioned yesterday, the Gentlemen's Refinery After Shave Balm is all you need post-shaving. But if you're looking for something for the other times of the day, this moisturizer is a great option. As with all Gentlemen's Refinery products, I will miss this moisturizer when the review session is over.

Gentlemen's Refinery Moisturizer is $48 for a 50ml bottle.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 11, 2007

Review of Gentlemen's Refinery After Shave Balm

GR-After-Shave-Balm.jpgDay three of Gentlemen's Refinery week. Hump day. We've pre oiled. We've shaved. Now it's time to heal.

Gentlemen's Refinery set the bar high with their Pre Shave Oil and "The Standard" Shaving Cream, and their After Shave Balm continues to clear it. A loose, white cream, Gentlemen's Refinery's After Shave Balm goes easy and makes your skin feel great.

[...] a revolutionary formulation designed to expedite the healing process, and seal skin from external impurities [...] 100% Natural ingredients; paraben and alcohol free ( we use natural and beneficial fatty alcohols). The Gentlemens Refinery After Shave Balm is antibacterial and contains cooling and moisturizing benefits; truly an advanced product for discerning gentlemen.

Two things to note - the pump top (love the pump) has a slightly forceful release. Don't be surprised if the first few squirts splash out of your hand. You'll learn to develop a gentle touch. Also, while the product says "apply liberally," I found that two squirts was more than enough to cover my entire face and neck - even spots I hadn't shaved.

One of the things I've found with after shave balms is that they can be too gentle on my skin. They may feel great initially, but after 15 minutes or so my face feels dry and I need to apply a moisturizer to a few key places. Not so with Gentlemen's Refinery's After Shave Balm. This is one of the few balms with stands by itself. High marks in my book. The perfect end to a great shave.

The Gentlemen's Refinery After Shave Balm is $40 for a 100ml bottle.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 10, 2007

Review of Gentlemen's Refinery "The Standard" Shaving Cream

gr-shaving-cream.jpg
Welcome to day two of Gentlemen's Refinery shaving week. Yesterday we lubed up with Pre Shave Oil. Today we're shaving with "The Standard" Shaving Cream.

Substance
Unscrew the cover of "The Standard" Shaving Cream and you are greeted with a fluffy, silky substance which just begs to get to know your face. Could double for cupcake frosting if not for the vaguely floral and soapy aroma. Gentlemen's Refinery comes in two flavors - "The Standard", which is what we're reviewing here; and "Black Ice", which is "lightly scented with Certified Organic Anise, Bergamot and Basil Oils". Both are $28.

Application
The application of "The Standard" Shaving Cream is a little challenging, so keep an open mind. You've already got some Pre Shave Oil on your face, but there's no water involved yet since you put the oil on dry skin. You could splash some water on your face, but that won't stick too well given the layer of oil. So what I found works best is the following: with your right hand, scoop out a small amount of "The Standard" Shaving Cream and put it in the center of your left palm. Now get some nice warm water going in the sink, cup your hands together, and quickly douse them with water. Then rub your hands together to mix the cream and water, and start smoothing it on your face. No mincing words here - this will be a little bit of a mess the first few times. Also, you'll have to experiment with the cream to water ratio. If you are ending up with a slightly thicker paste, splash a little water on your face to loosen things up. Trust me - the shave is worth it.

The Shave
Ahh, the shave. The shave with "The Standard" Shaving Cream from the Gentlemen's Refinery is one of the best I've experienced. Super close, no nicks or cuts, and no irritation. I shaved with a Fusion Power with blades ranging from razor sharp to somewhat dull, and "The Standard" always stood up. The base layer of Pre Shave Oil is essential. While you'll get a decent shave without it, I strongly suggest you go all in and trust what the experts at Gentlemen's Refinery have designed for you.

I could go into all the ingredients in "The Standard" Shaving Cream, but sometimes the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. In corporate-speak they call that "synergy". I just call it good stuff.

Get Some
"The Standard" Shaving Cream from Gentlemen's Refinery is $28 for a 150ml tub. The Gentlemens Refinery Black Ice Shave Cream (Anise) is also $28 for a 150ml tub.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 9, 2007

Review of Gentlemen's Refinery Pre Shave Oil

Pre-Shave-Oil.jpgOnce in a while I come across a line of shaving products which is in a league of its own. It's happened again with The Gentlemen's Refinery, sent over by our good friends at Details for Men. Quite frankly I've been dreading writing this review because it means that afterward I will be moving on to another set of shaving products. So we're going to stretch this out all week - one product from Gentlemen's Refinery per day. That way I get another couple shaves in before I have to say goodbye.

For a little history on the Gentlemen's Refinery, master barber Perry Gastis, and the quest for the ultimate organic shave, visit our first post from back in March. Then come on back as we dive into some pre shave oil.

The Oil
Pre Shave Oil from Gentlemen's Refinery comes in a handy pump-top container. I'll skip my usual accolades for the pump-top and go directly into the oil itself, which you apply to a dry face after a shower or hot towel treatment. (Master barber Perry Gastis says that a shower or hot towel before shaving is enough to soften up your face for shaving. Washing your face is not necessarily a prerequisite.)

I tended to use a fair amount of the oil - three to four squirts. You could definitely experiment with less. The pump-top made it easy to get the oil in the palms of my hands, and then on my face. This may seem like a minor point, but try getting the right amount of oil out of an unforgiving bottle and you've got a mess. Or a waste.

Ingredients and Aroma
The oil has a mild scent, somewhere between woody and floral. Key ingredients include

  1. Sunflower seed oil is certified organic for a level of purity
  2. Jojoba oil provides fast penetration and will carry essential fatty acids found in the sunflower seed oil into the skin
  3. Lime essential oil has antiseptic properties as well as restorative, astringent and toning action to clear oily skin and acne, and also helps with herpes, insect bites and cuts.
  4. Roman Chamomile is used to treat rashes and irritated skin as well as to calm acne, eczema, rashes, wounds, dermatitis, and dry, itchy skin and other allergic conditions in general.
  5. Vitamin E is an antioxidant known for healing skin.

Get Some
If you are at all interested in Gentlemen's Refinery products I strongly suggest you include the Pre Shave Oil in your order. It's clear from my usage that these guys have spent a large amount of time coming up with the ultimate shave, and Pre Shave Oil is an essential part of that. We'll talk more tomorrow about "The Standard" Shaving Cream and the shave itself, but my recommendation is you go all in and buy the complete shaving line.

Gentlemen's Refinery's Pre Shave Oil is $25 for a 50ml bottle.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 5, 2007

Acne Spot Repair from MenScience

menScienceSpotRepair.jpgAcne. You don't want to talk about it. I don't want to talk about it. But every so often it still shows up. Could be those greasy french fries which were delicious. Could a dull razor blade which you should have discarded.

Whatever the reason, MenScience has introduced Acne Spot Repair:

A prescription-grade acne treatment that rapidly eliminates acne breakouts and helps repair blemished skin with the highest concentration of Benzoyl Peroxide (10%) and soothing, repairing ingredients like Green Tea, Allantoin, Urea and Vitamin E.

Got a sample of Acne Spot Repair in the other day and here's what I like about it:

  1. 10% Benzoyl Peroxide. When I get a zit, I don't want some 2% or 5% solution. Max that BP out.
  2. While it's a white cream, it disappears into your skin. Remember that tinted cover-up stuff? I don't know which is worse, having a pimple or being called out for wearing cover up. Actually, I do know what's worse. I'm not wearing cover-up.
  3. This is the best - it doesn't dry out your skin. Clearasil may also have 10% Benzoyl Peroxide, but throw that stuff on your face and you'll feel like someone sucked your skin dry of all moisture. Just the opposite with MenScience Acne Spot Repair. It actually felt somewhat hydrating.

I liked this stuff. I think you will too. MenScience's Acne Spot Repair is $21 for a 0.75 oz (21g) tube.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 13, 2007

Review of Bold For Men

boldForMen.jpgTime for another one of these things we call reviews. For the past month or so we've been shaving with Bold For Men, a maverick in the shaving world. How so? With Bold For Men, you don't use any water. Aside from shaving oils, the only other product I've used which didn't call for a base of wet skin was Kiehl's. But while Kiehl's is a drier paste, Bold For Men is a more liquidy gel. Smells vaguely like banana.

Background
Applying Bold For Men couldn't be easier. After a shower just smooth some over your beard. That's it. No pre-shave oil. No warm water. Just squeeze and apply. Obviously Bold For Men wins the no-mess award hands down. If you're annoyed by splashes of water running down your chest and all over your sink, you've just met your savior.

The Shave
Shaving with Bold For Men is no different than other shaving creams. Wait 30 seconds for Bold to sink in, then get your blade hot and wet, stroke, and rinse often. The shave is pretty darn good too. My only complaint with the shave was that Bold For Men wasn't the best at lifting up finicky hairs. You know those hairs that seem to grow parallel instead of perpendicular. (Oh, did I just bust out the geometry?)

I have to admit that I was pretty nervous about using Bold For Men the first time. No water seemed like a recipe for disaster. Also, I've seen a few too many videos on YouTube of bad shaving behavior. But my fears we unfounded. Nicks and cuts were rare, and again, the shave was pretty darn good.

Caveats
There is something in Bold For Men that gives me pause. Immediately after applying Bold my lips felt a little numb. I've had that before with several products - Brave Soldier, Pacific Shaving Oil - and the tingling did go away quickly. Might be me since I seem to have sensitive lips. (My wife agrees.)

Also, sensitive skin - like under the eyes and below the ears - got a little red from Bold For Men. I'm talking about the areas just beyond where you shave, but areas where shaving cream typically ends up as you spread it over your face. The redness went away quickly, so I wasn't concerned, but if you've got especially delicate skin, you might steer clear.

Get Some
Bold For Men is $20. Free shipping between now and July 15th. Also recommended for head shaving.

Russell Neufeld at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

yahoo.gif

Archives

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3.6
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy